My Tea Party Experience

May 18, 2010

On December 16th, 1773, the Sons of Liberty threw 45 tons of tea into the Boston Harbor off three British ships: the Beaver, the Eleanor, and the Dartmouth.
The American people were tired of the British taxing them without representation.
This event is now known as the Boston Tea Party.


On February 27th, 2009, the first “Tea Party” protests took place.
A Republican activist interviewed by Fox News claimed there were 48 protests nationwide.
People were upset with their Presidential administration’s spending.
If you pay attention to most of the media, you can see they frown upon the protests.
They make the Tea Party participants out to be monsters, fueled by hate and anger.

I was curious, so on April 15th, 2010 I attended a Tax Day Tea Party at John Dam Plaza in Richland, WA.
I was disappointed by what I saw, honestly.
All I found were your average, every day people speaking out about how they were upset with the government spending.
Nothing but words being spoken and signs being carried.
Calm, rational speakers with obvious disappointment for their government.
It was much too moderate for me.
I didn’t meet a single person who was as conservative as myself.
Yet, the media portrays these people as a terrible, angry, dangerous group.
“Good thing I don’t have a microphone,” is all I could think while listening to speaker after speaker explain what they felt was wrong with the current administration.
CNN thinks these guys are crazy… if only they knew what goes through my mind…”

I was at a Tea Party, surrounded by people I had assumed felt the same as I did, who were as angry as I am and just as conservative as myself.
Yet, I didn’t feel like I belonged there.
Thanks to the left leaning media, I thought I’d find a bunch of radical Conservatives, when in reality, I just got to spend a couple of hours with a lot of moderates.

Leave a Reply

